Thursday, May 29, 2014

BJ's E3 Predictions

Oh thank heavens, E3 is right around the corner.

And this year, Nintendo isn’t putting on a press conference again, and Sony, Microsoft, EA, and Ubisoft are ALL putting THEIR press conferences on in a single day. So essentially there will be lots to talk about in a couple weeks’ time.

So, I may as well throw a few predictions out there.

I will put out my predictions, officially, in chronological order of when each press conference is going to be.

Microsoft

  • I will be pleasantly surprised if Microsoft actually brings games to E3 again this year.  Let’s see, probably it’ll be half games and half all the cool media things you can do on the Xbox One again.  Nice one Microsoft.  Sorry to see you won’t sell the Xbox division to Nintendo, as they will need all the help they can get.

EA

  • We’ll find out more about Star Wars Battlefront (I. am. SO. stoked.), maybe more on their latest sports games (and see the guy who sold out Shenmue to Microsoft, Peter Moore, for half the presser), and maybe one or two major surprises. Maybe.

Ubisoft

  • I’m only going to watch this for Aisha Tyler, one of the funniest ladies out there, and I will just hope that Ubi starts to put out an epic lineup. But it’s Ubisoft so I won’t expect it.

Sony

  • Well… Sony really needs to pull more than a few exclusives out of its hat. Luckily Sony realizes this and is probably going to pull out the mega-exclusive. People have been requesting Shenmue to be on PlayStation systems for months now (myself being one of them) and I think the time is right for Sony to announce that they have cinched one of the greatest exclusive deals ever.  It will net them tons of goodwill, and a TON of new hardware sales.  Just do it Sony. Just do it.

Nintendo

  • We know of only a few games that are known to be coming out later this year: Smash Wii U (Winter), Smash 3DS (Summer 2014), Pokemon Omega Ruby and Alpha Sapphire (November 2014)… and that is about it.  So, Nintendo will very likely bring the games.  What kinds of games, you ask? Well…
  • There is a mystery 3DS game that they were talking about with an upcoming 90-minute event.  However, I don’t think they would spend 90 minutes on a single, solitary mystery 3DS title, but more than likely we’ll see three, so my predictions on this one are thus:
    • I think Metroid is overdue for a reboot. Metroid could very well still be the ‘mystery 3DS title’ they were talking about (possibly Metroid Dread, which would no longer be vaporware).
    • Another franchise that is overdue for a reboot is the (Famicom) Wars franchise, because Advance Wars kinda took a nosedive after they attached the Advance Wars name to the dreadful Days of Ruin.
    • And one more franchise that is in dire need of a reboot is the Star Fox franchise.  There are far too many games that are fair-to-middling in that franchise, and Star Fox 64 3D, while a great game in its own right, just doesn’t do it for everybody.  So, it could be that a Star Fox game could still come out and be retooled for the ‘modern gamer’.
  • Next, I think we’ll finally see the end of 3DS system-wide friend codes, and friend codes in general.  Sayonara, you didn’t serve anybody well.
  • Another radical idea is that Nintendo will FINALLY take the universal eShop accounts to its most logical extreme: FULLY universal eShop accounts, tied in with Club Nintendo, that allow you to redownload ANY game you have previously bought, not just on your most recent systems.
    • Add on to that the idea I have that you can do a one-time migration, through Club Nintendo, that you can get rid of the games you don’t want anymore for some much-needed eShop credit. (I mean come on, who on Earth would want to redownload that godawful Lego City game for the 3DS unless you actually LIKED that trash pile?).
  • One final prediction, NOT having anything to do with the NFC stuff that everyone and their mother would be talking about, is that I would like to see Iwata try and promote the heck out of Japanese television show Game Center CX outside of its native Japan.  No Retro Game Master, or whatever that dreadful steaming pile was.  Just Game Center CX, subtitled for those of us who like that, dubbed for those who like that, but please don’t try to make GCCX into Iron Chef again. Please, just don’t.  GCCX is absolutely NOT Iron Chef, nor should it ever be.

Hyperkin's RetroN5 and new RetroN: Wow!

Okay, we finally have a release date and price for Hyperkin’s oft-delayed, much-anticipated RetroN5: The week of June 6th, for $140.  Now if you have been following this storied saga, it was going to cost $99 or so MSRP, but I guess all the delays caught up with them and they’ll have to charge a tiny bit more.  Don’t worry, it’ll be cheaper on Amazon… if Amazon decides to stock it.

Now, the reviews coming out thus far have been… mixed at best.  I’ve been looking at reviews of other clone consoles too and I haven’t seen anything to make me consider upgrading from my RetroN3 to anything else just yet.  It may be that the RetroN5 is my replacement, but I do not know yet.  I definitely know I will be watching the reactions of real people to the RetroN5 before I make my final decision, though.

One other thing about Hyperkin: At the Midwest Gaming Classic a couple months back, Hyperkin didn’t sit on the announcement of a new RetroN system just because the RetroN5 was heavily delayed.  They announced the new RetroN x86, which is based on the Commodore VIC-20, is Linux-based and will play just about any old PC game you have the original discs/disks for with very little tweaking.  They didn’t give ANY further details other than that it’s ostensibly coming out later this year, but I cannot wait to mess around with that whenever that does come out.

Welcome back!

Wow, more than three months went by like that.  Sorry about that.

Why wasn’t I blogging regularly?  Well, when your potential topics just run dry for several months and you have NO idea what actually to write ABOUT, it makes things really hard sometimes.

Anywho, I’m going to take another week-plus to reconfigure yet again, after 1 or 2 more posts that I feel the need to write up while I’m working on rebuilding this blog, yet again.  Sorry about all the constant reshuffles, I need to figure out what exactly I need to specialize in in the gaming space, rather than just writing about gaming, so that’s why I need some extra time to work out the kinks here.